Quick Links

Useful Links

The Wells Free School

The Wells Free School Board of Governors

Each of our governors brings some form of specific expertise to the Governing Body. Some formed part of the original school proposer team and others have joined us since the school opened in September 2013. All governors take a passionate interest in the school and work in partnership with our talented and dedicated staff team to deliver the best possible educational experience for the children at The Wells Free School.


Chair of Governors- Steven George




c/o The Wells Free School

King Charles Square

Tunbridge Wells



Elected by the GB/board

Chair of Governors

Chair of the Business Management Committee


I have been a member on the governing body since 2015 and it's a huge privilege to serve the school. I have 15 years of experience as a BBC journalist and I currently work for the National Association of Head Teachers, so I'm well connected and up to speed on education policy. I try to bring these skills to bear at governors meetings.

The Ofsted judgement of Good, shows that the school is doing great things but there are also many challenges for a single academy school, so I'm committed to making sure that all our children get the best possible education during their time at The Wells.

I believe in supporting the leadership team to continue to do the great work they do, whilst always pushing them to go further.

We should all be very proud of the great partnership we have between the school, its parents and pupils. That is the foundation of everything the Wells school stands for. 



  Elizabeth Grant 


 Governor- appointed by the GB/Board 

 Member of Teaching and Learning Committee

 Link Governor for Early Years  



  Jane Page 


Parent Governor 

Member of Teaching and Learning Committee and School Business Management Committee

Link Governor for Personal Development and Wellbeing 



  Warren Gardiner


Parent Governor 

Member of School Business Management Committee

Link Governor for Premises



  Anna-Marie Cheeseman


Staff Governor- appointed by the staff

Member of Teaching & Learning Committee

I am an experienced classroom teacher of 14 years. I have taught in EYFS (Reception Year), KS1 and lower KS2, leading the Early Years team at my previous school. I really enjoy working at The Wells and felt that I wanted a new challenge, which led me to applying to be a Staff Governor. I really enjoy working with the Governors and having an understanding into the background running of the school. 



Non-Governor Founder members

Monica Pell

Orla Dobson

Cari Reid

Marlene Lento

Ann Hughes Wilson

Bruce Taylor

Jude O'Connor

Robert Atwood